BANNED from BookStrand and All Romance eBooks

After a widespread change of policy affecting all independent erotica authors, a number of my titles have been banned from All Romance eBooks. ALL my titles have been removed from Bookstrand.

This is due to changes to the Terms of Sales of both sites which prevent the sales of books depicting “pseudo-incest”. This is, in reality, legal and consenting non-blood related sex between adults. Roleplay, in other words. Pure fantasy.

It is unclear at this point how much of this has been enforced by the aforementioned retailers or as a result of Draconican and vague regulations stipulated by Paypal, a merchant for both sites. Either way, it is censorship of perfectly legal material – in short, you are being told what you can and cannot read, even when those books are legal.

It goes without saying that this only seems to be affecting independent erotica authors. No books depicting the censored acts from traditional publishers (and there are plenty) have been removed.

Any customers of Bookstrand will now have to purchase my books at alternative venues. Amazon currently stocks ALL my books without restriction and they can be bought here. Check out some of the titles to see what the fuss was all about!

About

I'm an erotica author from the UK who writes about strong characters who love lots of steamy sex! When I'm not turning filthy thoughts into books you can find me dancing to vinyl records in high heels and vintage clothes. Okay, maybe not all the time. Please get in touch, I'd love to hear from you!

Posted in banned, censorship, Ebooks, lactating, lactation, psedoincest, pseudo incest
19 comments on “BANNED from BookStrand and All Romance eBooks
  1. Bookstrand was only 3% of my overall earnings. I’ll be just fine. The question is, how will they do? Independent authors made them a LOT of money. I hope they enjoy living off Mac&Cheese from here on out. But, hey, it’s microwavable.

    • Stuart says:

      There are other publishers out there who accept and even welcome indi authors or those self-publishing – and I happen to own one such publishing organisation!

      Fiction4All, which includes A1AdultEbooks (www.a1adultebooks.com) and Taboo Reading (www.tabooreading.com) has a Self-publishing option through our authors’ suite at http://www.epuborg.com and though we have to restrict where we sell taboo erotica, BDSM causes us no problems at all. Any author is very welcome to join us. We have over 10,000 members, with over 2000 visitors a day to our sites and last month our authors earned in excess of $12000 between them.

  2. Bookstrand and ARE comprise over 50% of my sales. How frustrating šŸ˜¦

  3. I’m sorry, BJ. That sucks. šŸ˜¦

  4. Traditional publishing strikes back. The last gasps of a dying industry mired in the past. I wonder how many customers BookStrand and ARe will lose when they can no longer find the erotica they crave. I’m more than happy to sell to them over at Amazon. I make more money from each sale there anyway.

  5. Mark Sennen says:

    And people wonder why Amazon is the runaway success story it is? The other retailers just don’t have a clue.

    A thought: when they remove your ebooks from their stores is that the electronic equivalent of burning hard copies? As you tweeted, a dark day indeed.

  6. Anjasa says:

    That’s even worse. If customers are buying the books through the sites, they’re really hurting themselves. Like… a lot.

  7. Katie Cramer says:

    It does seem like the digital equivalent of burning books.

    This isn’t over. BJ, I feel for you. Some author friends of mine have had similar experiences to you – one in particular has had the vast majority of their books wiped out overnight. And remember – these are titles containing LEGAL content depicting CONSENTING sex between non-blood related adults.

    It seems BDSM may be in the crosshairs also, a genre that has more rules regarding consent than any other I know.

  8. […] BANNED from BookStrand and All RomanceĀ eBooks (Katie Cramer) Banned by PayPal (Saffron Sands) Here’s the Thing… (Rachel Boleyn) […]

  9. Thanks for posting this. I’m not sure that legality has anything to do with it. Fictional depictions of illegal acts are not illegal anyway, (with the exception of material containing pedophilia). Think about it, they’d have to ban every murder mystery if this was the case.

    The issue is most definitely one of a small and very powerful group of people who simply think they know what is good for you to read, and what is not. They have the financial leverage to impose their opinions on readers and so they do. They can’t officially prohibit the publication of these texts, because those materials are protected under the Free Speech act, but they can make it impossible for you to offer them for sale – legally.

    So much for a free market.

  10. […] L’Amour)Ā  * Putting the World According to PayPal inĀ Perspective (One-Handed Writers)* BANNED from BookStrand and All RomanceĀ eBooks (Katie Cramer) * Banned by PayPal (Saffron Sands) * Hereā€™s the Thingā€¦ (Rachel Boleyn) […]

  11. […] (Tessie Lā€™Amour)Ā  * Putting the World According to PayPal inĀ Perspective (One-Handed Writers)* BANNED from BookStrand and All RomanceĀ eBooks (Katie Cramer) * Banned by PayPal (Saffron Sands) * Hereā€™s the Thingā€¦ (Rachel Boleyn) […]

  12. Ryan Field says:

    Thought you might find this interesting. One of my books, with a publisher, was banned this week from allromanceebooks. And, for no valid reason. None of the “taboo” targets listed are in my book. More important, a variation of the same short story was published a few years ago in an anthology. The anthology, with my banned story, has not been taken down at ARe. This tells me no one is safe.

  13. Banning books…what is this a police state? There is nothing wrong with your books. I am a fan of well written erotica. I like the fact that most if your work is not (in my opinion) disgusting. I had to weed through some really lousy books until I found your work, along with some others that I enjoy. Ms Wades books along with yours are very good. I am a menopausel woman whom sometimes needs a little inspiration to enjoy my husbands very healthy sex drive. So a little bit oh smut helps me along the way. Please keep writing and I will keep buying. One greatful fan. Michelann

    • Katie Cramer says:

      Thank you for your comment! We must always be wary of censorship in all its forms, but particularly where written fiction is concerned. The efforts of erotica authors and readers, plus a few other key figures, managed to put a stop to Paypal’s nonsense although some censorship still remains in place. I, for one, will continue to defend people’s right to read perfectly legal subject matter in the face of these attempts at moral policing by large, faceless corporations.

  14. Stuart says:

    Hi

    Well the debate may not be over with yet. On 31st October I was emailed by Zombaio to be told that my site (A1AdultEbooks) had failed their compliance test for a number of reasons and that as a result I was being closed down by them. This turned out to be a combination of just TWO pages on Google that had been there for a couple of years or more, and they were dead links anyway, anbd to a number of words that appeared in book blurbs, including “sleep”, “unconscious” and a few others. Zombaio claim this is down to Mastercard and G2 who are scanning sites for what they call BRAM violations – basically they just look for certain so-called “bad words”. One of those bad words is “incest” with or without the pseudo bit. If Zombaio are telling the truth then that means all the PI books should be banned from Smashwords, Amazon and other sites – but so far I don’t think they have been.

    If anyone knows any different and is having issues getting legal fiction sold elsewhere please let me know. We may just have to raise this issue again, barely 6 months after it appeared the dictators had conceded!

  15. Stuart says:

    I should add that at this point A1AdultEbooks has not received any complaints from PayPal or our other card processor so I am hoping this is just Zombaio and their G2 associates. If so then it will be Zombaio’s loss but we, who are involved in this marketplace need to be sure and be careful!

Leave a Reply

FREE CUCKOLD EROTICA EBOOK
KATIE CRAMER – I write very naughty things.

Click my photo to visit me at Amazon Author Central.

